Your location: The Papier Mache ResourceForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

Mask Making Inner-sealant

#1 2014-09-10 01:41:43

dannycronin

Mask Making Inner-sealant

Hello,

I am new to Mask Making (well Paper Mache in general actually!); I was after some advice for the inner sealant. I'm making it using Flour-water with Newspaper.

Reading a few posts online I've read some saying that when wearing a full head-mask, moisture can build up quick inside due to heat and breathing, which can cause damage to the mask and I'm guessing an unpleasant wearing experience!

I wondered what could I use to seal the inside thereby stopping this moisture from soaking into the mask?

Thought I'd mention this mask is part of a costume I'm making for a comic book convention I'm going to so I'll wear it for a fairly lengthy amount of time!

Thanks,

Danny

#2 2014-09-10 04:31:02

CatPerson

Re: Mask Making Inner-sealant

Use REAL shellac, not any kind of synthetic. 

Shellac is alcohol-based, so when the alcohol evaporates, it's non-toxic.  It dries fast.  It's almost waterproof, certainly moisture-resistant enough for your purpose.  It comes in clear and an amber tint, liquid and spray.

In the U.S., the classic shellac is Zinsser Bulls Eye brand.

Anything that you use it on for the long-term that gets considerable use, be sure to check it once or twice a year to see if it needs another coat, as it will wear in spots.

Warning:  true shellac in its container only stays good for about a year, so buy it fresh in smaller containers, and don't expect it to sit on the shelf and remain good.  It gets thick and sticky, producing a poor finish.

#3 2014-09-10 15:34:56

dannycronin

Hi,

Thanks for your help!

I live in the UK and I've not heard of that particular product you suggest. I phones my local DIY outlet (we only have one in my town!) and they were unable to help!