Your location: The Papier Mache ResourceForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

advice requested

#1 2014-08-17 12:07:37

Iancan

advice requested

Hi, I'm relatively new to papier-mâché. I'm making a Dalek head. The plaster 'plug', or positive is finished, and I now have to make a plaster of paris mould and then, hopefully, a papier-mâché dome from that. Any advice greatly appreciated. The standard approach is fibreglass but I want to avoid that. Thanks, Ian.

#2 2014-08-17 20:13:43

CatPerson

Re: advice requested

First, I had to look it up to see what a Dalek head was. :-)

Would it be possible to link to a photo of what you've made so far?  Is it just the dome on the very top, or does it include the rings that go around it and other attachments?  I hope it's just the dome, and you're attaching the rings afterward, or we shall be getting into the realms of a very complicated mold, far beyond what I've ever attempted.

If it's just the dome, it should be relatively simple.  First, the positive needs to be at least 3 days old to be cured.  It would be best to do this on a piece of plywood so you can move it off the table without damaging the mold. Cover the plywood or tabletop with a large piece of plastic (preferably the heavier type- you can reuse it).  Set the dome on the plastic.  If you have some non-drying Plasticine clay (kid's play clay), roll out a rope of it and make a circle of it around the positive (not too close) and press the clay onto the table plastic, forming a wall or dam to confine the wet plaster.