Your location: The Papier Mache ResourceForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

Beginners Big Helmet Questions

#1 2013-01-21 13:07:53

GRBarker83

Beginners Big Helmet Questions

Hello,

I am new to the world of PM and would appreciate some help and advice.

Basically I am making a large squashed ball shape (around 55cm diameter) to wear as a mask/helmet.
I would like it to look like this one
http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/282 … anha-plant

I am going to use a semi deflated yoga ball to mould my PM around and first cover the ball with cling film.

As I am naive to the whole construction, best practice, practicality's; I have the following questions:

1. What type of PM should I use, how many layers will I need and what is the drying time of each layer?

2.  I assume I should PM the whole ball in one go (per layer) to make sure there are no weaknesses, however I havent worked out how I'd do under the ball. Any advice?

3. Finishing. I have been told that I should plaster the ball afterwards to get a nice smooth finish. This seems like a massive undertaking, is it necessary? Are there alternatives to getting a nice finish that I can paint?

Thank you very much for all your help

Kind regards

G

#2 2013-01-21 13:57:53

dopapier

Re: Beginners Big Helmet Questions

Look on this site for advice on pastes etc.  You are best to use layering.  Kraft paper moulds well and is strong.  I find the paper Amazon uses as packaging is excellent.  Otherwise newspaper works OK but you will need more layers.
To get around the ball, I suggest you tie it with a few lines of string (four at 90 degrees from bottom to top should do;  tie these together at the top and then hang the whole thing.