Your location: The Papier Mache ResourceForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

Book Shelf

#1 2009-10-21 09:38:45

payal

Book Shelf

Hi all,

To help my daughter get organized ,I am planning to make a three shelf book case by  joining three cardboard boxes one on top of the other, then layering with PM. I would really appreciate some tips on this............any other ideas on how to go about it are most welcome

#2 2009-10-21 18:24:07

newmodeller
Website

Re: Book Shelf

I would be very careful to batten the boxes first, although PM is very strong just think about how books bow a wooden bookshelf with their weight.

Plan your design carefully and then think about where the weight will be, even though booksellers use cardboard boxes for packing the boxes are never suspended above one another with a gap when they are stacked.  Even a small set of paperbacks is heavy (trust me on this I worked in the booktrade for many years and have carried more stacks of books than I care to remember).

Look at cross bracing the back of the three boxes and putting I bar joists in to support the shelf.  Alternatively put a central divider with an I bar shape in the middle of each box,  make sure the top and bottom of the I is under and supporrting each part of the shelf above and below to spread the stress of the weight evenly.

Think about lintels in doors to give you an idea of what you may need to do.  Then PM away.

www.pawtraits.co.uk
www.puppetsndolls.etsy.com
Papiermache.co.uk gallery: Charlotte Hills

#3 2009-10-22 07:42:07

payal

Thanks Newmodeller,

You just read my mind i had the same doubt but did'nt know how to overcome this weight problem .........i think the I bar should work. Not sure how the cross braces will prove helpful. If i am not asking for too much......can you advice me , what can be used for I bar and cross braces.
Thanks a lot for your advice.

Payal