Your location: The Papier Mache ResourceForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

making a car from papier mache OTZ

#1 2009-07-07 00:08:48

fanmaker

making a car from papier mache OTZ

Hi everyone! I am a total newbie, so I would really appreciate some advice.

While being dangerously ambitious, for my performance at a certain festival I would like to make a car from papier mache. It is actually supposed to be a half-cut car, as in this picture:

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h257/ … an/car.png

And even if, I think, it's possible to make a life-sized car from papier mache, it isn't quite possible to sit in it, is it? I wonder if there's a way to make it solid yet not very heavy? Actually, I would have to transport this car (or, most probably, fragments of it) with me from one city to another, and then - from one place to a concert hall.

I supposed to use some metallic (or other concrete material) pipes or balks and cardboard as a frame and to add enough foam under the front seat, so it won't break when you sit. Maybe it would be better to use some textile material for the seat too, but can it be somehow sewn or glued to the whole construction?

Or maybe you could suggest some other material to make a car from?

I would greatly appreciate any help or advice!
Thanks in advance.

Maria

#2 2009-07-07 01:44:52

CatPerson

Re: making a car from papier mache OTZ

I would agree that this would be too large of a project for someone who has no experience with papier mache.

You would probably be better off paying a company that makes props to do it for you. 

Sue

#3 2009-07-07 06:54:37

fanmaker

CatPerson, I see, thanks.

Well, I really wanted to make it myself, to put effort in it. Not alone, but with some help. Would you suggest not even trying this? smile