Your location: The Papier Mache ResourceForum

Forum

Note: The forum uses a separate login system to the galleries.

You are not logged in.

Options

Sculptor - New to Papier mache

#1 2009-04-29 09:04:11

liamuk

Sculptor - New to Papier mache

I am new to papier mache and would appreciate some advice. I am a sculptor and want to use natural white papier mache pulp for some new work. I have the following questions:
1. What is the best way to make my own pm pulp that has no/or limited shrinkage/distortion?
2. Can I buy it cheaply in bulk? I saw an amco claycrete pm in 1kg bags
3. I want to cast off moulds. Can I use plaster/vinamold? What do I watch out for?

The piece can be seen at: http://www.liamobrien.org.uk/work1.html

The "winged" form will be in bronze and the "face form" I want in white papier mache

I though to give support inside with fibreglass /gesso

#2 2009-04-29 19:02:01

CatPerson

Re: Sculptor - New to Papier mache

Check your link -- it doesn't seem to be working.

Shrinkage - One of the facts of papier mache is that when it's wet, it swells, and when it dries, it shrinks.  I think there is some law of physics at work there. I think strip or patch-type PM may shrink less than the pulp, as the pulp has more air/space in it than smoothed-down strips would.

Room-temperature drying will help to avoid distortion more than heated drying. A small fan may speed drying for you, but not a heated fan.  Also, the least amount of moisture that you could incorporate into the PM would be beneficial.  For pulp, you are limited in that respect, as it requires a certain amount of moisture for you to be able to manipulate it. If you press out too much of the water, it will be hard to work with.